Peanut Butter Cookies

Peanut Butter Cookies

Peanut Butter Cookies

I have had a jar of peanut butter that was not so pleasant on my breakfast toast – way too many peanuts, not so much butter = difficult to spread on anything, so I thought it was time to do something with it and peanut butter cookies were the perfect, quick, delicious and easy solution!

Before now I had made peanut butter cookies only from The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook but I didn’t bring any recipe books to Dubai so I have been primarily relying on the internet for inspiration – not that its lacking any, there are many great websites and blogs with ample road tested recipes.  So, I was looking on the internet for recipes and considered a vintage 1950’s Betty Crocker recipe but I wanted something with less ingredients and somehow came across Joy the Baker’s blog post for Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies from The Gourmet Cookbook.  The recipe, if you can call it that was memorable as it only has 4 ingredients, but then I figured that since it was midnight and my camomile tea was cold because I was looking feverishly for something to bake I would try and put my restless self to sleep and make them in the morning…..I was more than delighted with the end result.

Taken from Joy the Baker blog

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

The Gourmet Cookbook

Print this Recipe!

makes about two dozen cookies

1 cup all-natural chunky or smooth peanut butter

1 cup sugar (1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup granulated sugar)

1 egg

1 teaspoon baking soda

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease a baking sheet with butter and set aside.  In a mixer combine peanut butter and sugars until well combined, about 2 minutes.  Add egg and baking soda and mix for another 2 minutes.  Roll into walnut sized balls and create a cris-cross pattern with a fork.  If you’d like, add a few chocolate pieces to the top of the cookies.  Bake for 10 minutes, until lightly browned.  Cool on a baking sheet for two minutes, then transfer to… your mouth.

For me, this recipe made 18 generous sized cookies, my official testers who are preventing my waistline from increasing really enjoyed these!  I will be using up the remaining peanut cookies to make some smaller bite size versions of these to enjoy with after dinner coffee.

One thought on “Peanut Butter Cookies

What do you think?

