Ruffle Cake

Ruffles & Roses: A Mad(ish) Tea Party

Ruffles & Roses: A Mad(ish) Tea Party, Sweetapolita

I love the look of this cake and have been pondering how to create it myself as it looks so complicated!  This may have been the first ruffle cake I’d seen but I’m realising that they are becoming more popular.  I particularly love this photograph as not only do the cakes look so good, but I’m in love with all the crockery. Ruffles & Roses: A Mad(ish) Tea Party 

I’m so happy to have now found this video to learn the ‘ruffled icing’ technique:

To achieve this look you will need plenty of buttercream – as long as it is a good/medium consistency, it will be pipable and remain on the cake.

Tips:

  • use a petal tip – Wilton do these in various sizes, smaller is better apparently, so maybe a 104 or 124
  • crumb coat your cake before hand and refrigerate for around 30minutes
  • you don’t have to have perfect lines of ruffles to make a great looking cake

I have launched a youtube channel: CupcakeDarlingUK and will feature some of the best tutorials on the net as well as my own content.

I didn’t realise until I put this blog together that Sweetapolita also has a very similar blog including a cake that she made!  I feel so redundant now! Oh well, I’ve highlighted the cause and you can check out her post here: Rich & Ruffled Chocolate Cake

Martha Stewart's Ruffle Cake

Martha Stewart's Ruffle Cake

One thought on “Ruffle Cake

  1. Pingback: Lovely Little Ruffles : Pinwheels & Paper Curls

What do you think?

