CupcakeDarling does Dubai

I haven’t been baking much the last week as I’ve been exploring the city of Dubai in the United Arab Emirates!  (I did however made some cinnamon buns for friends here and they really enjoyed them! I’m a little obsessed with them now!)

Exciting stuff! I’m based out here for a while so I’m making the most of the beautiful and very quiet beaches, the sunsets and night life.  This is what I’ve been up to so far –  in pictures.

City View

Burj Al Arab

Me @ Dubai Marina

JBR Beach

Camels on the Beach

Me on Jameira Beach

Magnolia Bakery

Chocolate & Peppermint Slice @ The Lime Tree Cafe

I had to include cake somewhere here!  I didn’t get anything at Magnolia Bakery but when I’m back in Dubai Mall – the biggest shopping centre in the world I will be sampling at least one thing!
I did however meet up with a girlfriend for lunch today and I have this delicious and refreshing chocolate peppermint slice at The Lime Tree Cafe – synonymous with the ‘ladies who lunch’ set.  It had a chocolate shortbread base, the middle layer was like peppermint cream and the top layer was dark chocolate.  It soon started to melt – we chose to sit outside.  The vanilla ice cream wasn’t anything special, just cheap ice cream really.  The cakes at the cafe were pretty pricey – a slice of carrot cake was 24aed – about £5.00.  This chocolate peppermint slice was 16aed- about £3.00.  The clientele here are all designer sunglasses, 5inch heels, gucci bag ex-pats so the prices here are pocket change to them I’m guessing!
One thought on “CupcakeDarling does Dubai

  1. Pingback: Piece of Cake Review « CupcakeDarling

What do you think?

