Pink chocolate ganache

Birthday cake fit for a princessLast week a friend of mine asked me to make her little girl a birthday cake – she loves chocolate and she loves pink so I saw it as a challenge to bring the two together.  The result is a Devil’s Food Cake filled and covered in a pink chocolate ganache!  I made all of the decorations too using ready to roll icing, various cutters, my beloved gel colours and florist wire (24 gauge).

The real challenge was to make the pink chocolate ganache – I toyed with two ways of doing this – making a ganache with cream and pink candy melts or tinting some white chocolate ganache (which I was told could be troublesome).  So last night I tried the former and the colour was not very appetising and the ganache was too loose to stay on the cake.  Then I tried making a white chocolate ganache and trialled adding some pink gel colouring to a little ganache.  The colour looked fine so then I added the colour to the whole pot!  It looked good and so the waiting game began!  This morning I found a lovely pot of thick pink chocolate ganache, just the right consistency and voila!

Ganache my way (for an 8″ layer cake):

You will need:

  • 300ml double cream
  • 300g chocolate – whichever kind you like

Method:

  • Heat the cream in a heavy based pan.  Before it reaches boiling point remove from the hob.
  • Add in chopped up chocolate and stir until melted and smooth.
  • Stir every now and then, it may take a few hours to get a thick ganache that will adhere to your cake.
I usually make this the night before I want to decorate my cake.
One thought on “Pink chocolate ganache

What do you think?

