Home Made Vanilla Extract

My Christmas preparations have started and first was this vanilla extract. Earlier this week I went to the Spice Souk with my friend and we picked up some bargain spices for use over Christmas.

This is the first time I have tried to make my own extract and I chose to make a non alcoholic version of the fragrant extract.

It was really simple to make, took less than 5 minutes probably and I found the recipe here and scaled it down to a smaller ‘trial’ size version.  Here is the original recipe:

  • 2 vanilla beans
  • 1 1/2 cups glycerin
  • 1/2 cup warm water

Directions:

  1. Slit beans down the middle, and scrape down seeds.
  2. Place both in glycerin and warm water.
  3. Place in a dark jar (or a light jar in a dark place).
  4. Let sit for a month or so.
  5. Shake often.
  6. Strain. (optional).
Vanilla Extract - Day One

Vanilla Extract - Day One

I’m a bit late making this to use for my Christmas baking but at least in the new year I should have a great home made vanilla extract to incorporate into my baking!  I will give you an update.  Maybe I will cheat and taste my concoction in a couple of weeks!  I got the jar cheaply from Ikea and will be using them to store many of my home made Christmas gifts.

One thought on “Home Made Vanilla Extract

  1. Pingback: What I’ve been making… « CupcakeDarling

What do you think?

